What Are the Types of Leukemia?

  • 1

1 Answer

These messages are for mutual support and information sharing only. Always consult your doctor before trying anything you read here.
Leukemia is classified by the speed of its progression. Generally it can be divided into acute and chronic types. Acute leukemia progresses rapidly and can destroy the body within a short time span, usually within a few weeks or months. On the contrast, chronic leukemia progresses slowly and usually takes years to get worsen. The four main types of leukemia include:
  • Acute myeloid leukemia (AML)
  • Chronic myeloid leukemia (CML)
  • Acute lymphocytic leukemia (ALL)
  • Chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL)
The main differences lie in the part of the body where the cancer develops and the speed of progression. "Chronic" leukemia cells are immature and can’t function as well as normal ones, while “acute” leukemia cells have no immune functions.   Keywords: type leukemia