What Are The DSM-5 Criteria?

  • 1
What are the DSM-5 criteria?

1 Answer

These messages are for mutual support and information sharing only. Always consult your doctor before trying anything you read here.
DSM-5 means the fifth edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, it includes criteria that can diagnose PTSD. The criteria are as follows:
  • Criterion A: Stressor. Patients can be exposed to certain stressful situations through direct exposure, witnessing or learning that their close friends or relatives are faced with traumas.
  • Criterion B: Intrusion symptoms. The traumatic events can be re-experienced through nightmares, flashbacks or unwanted upsetting memories.
  • Criterion C: Avoidance. Avoid trauma-related feelings, thoughts, and external reminders.
  • Criterion D: Negative alterations in cognitions and mood. These include exaggeration of their or others blame for causing trauma, overly negative thoughts about the world or themselves, etc.
  • Criterion E: Alterations in arousal and reactivity. These include destructive behaviors, concentration problems, sleeping problems, irritability, hypervigilance, etc.
  • Criterion F: Duration. The symptoms last for more than 1 month.
  • Criterion G: Functional significance. The symptoms can affect normal social or occupational life.
  • Criterion H: Exclusion. The symptoms are not triggered by medications, or other illness.
Keyword: dsm v ptsd