What is allowed in celiac menus?

  • 2
related to an answer for: Any Suggestion for Celiac Disease Diet?

2 Answers

These messages are for mutual support and information sharing only. Always consult your doctor before trying anything you read here.

Gluten-free foods:

Fruit, Vegetables and Legumes

  • Artichoke
  • Asparagus
  • Avocado
  • Bell peppers
  • Broccoli
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Cabbage
  • Cauliflower
  • Celery
  • Chard
  • Chickpeas
  • Coconut
  • Collards
  • Cucumber
  • Eggplant / aubergine
  • Garlic (avoid if on FODMAP diet)
  • Ginger
  • Green beans
  • Kale
  • Leek
  • Lemon
  • Lentils
  • Lettuce
  • Limes
  • Mushrooms
  • Olives
  • Onions (avoid if on FODMAP diet)
  • Pak choi / bok choy
  • Parsley
  • Pineapple
  • Potatoes
  • Pumpkin
  • Sauerkraut
  • Scallions
  • Shallots
  • Soya beans
  • Spinach
  • Squash
  • Tomato
  • Turnip
  • Watercress
  • Zucchini / courgettes

Meats, Poultry, Fish and Meat Free Substitutes

  • Beef
  • Cod
  • Chicken
  • Cold cuts / sandwich meat as long as they are not breaded or glazed but check label
  • Duck
  • Fish
  • Lamb
  • Mince meat
  • Pork
  • Quorn mince
  • Salmon
  • Shellfish and molluscs
  • Trout
  • Turkey

Cereals, Grains, Breads, Biscuits, Pasta, Nuts and Cakes

  • Gluten free bread such as Genius bread and Udi’s gluten free bread
  • Gluten free cereals
  • Gluten free oats
  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Beans
  • Buckwheat groats / Kasha
  • Cassava
  • Chia
  • Corn / maize
  • Cornflakes
  • Flax
  • Gluten-free oats
  • Granola
  • Millet
  • Nuts
  • Nut flours
  • Porridge oats
  • Potato
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Rice Krispies
  • Seeds e.g. flaxseed, pumpkin, poppy sesame, sunflower
  • Sorghum
  • Soy
  • Tapioca
  • Teff
  • Yucca

Condiments, Dips, Desserts, Sweets, Sweeteners and Spreads

  • Coconut oil
  • French mustard
  • Ground pepper
  • Honey
  • Horseradish
  • Jam
  • Jellies
  • Olive oil
  • Rice pudding
  • Salsa
  • Salt
  • Sesame oil
  • Sorbet
  • Syrup
  • Tapioca pudding

Drinks

  • Gluten free beer
  • Almond milk
  • Cider
  • Fruit juices
  • Potato vodka
  • Sodas / fizzy drinks e.g. Coca-cola, Pepsi, lemonade
  • Spirits such as rum. Certain spirits such as whisky and vodka are distilled so most can tolerate
  • Wine

Dairy Foods

  • Butter
  • Cheese except for blue cheese
  • Cream
  • Eggs
  • Milk
  • Sour cream
  • Yogurt, plain

Cooking ingredients, herbs and Spices

  • Gluten free flour
  • Baking powder
  • Bicarbonate of soda
  • Cornflour
  • Cream of tartar
  • Potato flour
  • Rice flour
  • Soya flour
  • Herbs e.g. basil, coriander, lemongrass, oregano, rosemary, thyme
  • Spices e.g. allspice, cinnamon, cloves, cumin, nutmeg, paprika

Foods that are gluten-free, such as those containing:

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn and cornmeal
  • Flax
  • Gluten-free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato, bean)
  • Hominy (corn)
  • Millet
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Sorghum
  • Soy
  • Tapioca (cassava root)
  • Teff
...