Best diet for celiac disease.

  • 4
related to an answer for: Any Suggestion for Celiac Disease Diet?

4 Answers

These messages are for mutual support and information sharing only. Always consult your doctor before trying anything you read here.

A strict, lifelong gluten-free diet is the only way to manage celiac disease. Therefore, rule for diet of celiac disease is completely gluten-free.

Besides wheat, foods that contain gluten include:

  • Barley
  • Bulgur
  • Durum
  • Farina
  • Graham flour
  • Malt
  • Rye
  • Semolina
  • Spelt (a form of wheat)
  • Triticale

Gluten can hide in modified food starch, preservatives and food stabilizers, Rx and OTC medication, vitamin and mineral supplements, herb supplements.

Gluten can also hide in lipsticks, toothpaste, mouth wash.

When you buy foods, medication, and daily chemical products, make sure to read the label carefully.

Gluten-free foods:

Fruit, Vegetables and Legumes

  • Artichoke
  • Asparagus
  • Avocado
  • Bell peppers
  • Broccoli
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Cabbage
  • Cauliflower
  • Celery
  • Chard
  • Chickpeas
  • Coconut
  • Collards
  • Cucumber
  • Eggplant / aubergine
  • Garlic (avoid if on FODMAP diet)
  • Ginger
  • Green beans
  • Kale
  • Leek
  • Lemon
  • Lentils
  • Lettuce
  • Limes
  • Mushrooms
  • Olives
  • Onions (avoid if on FODMAP diet)
  • Pak choi / bok choy
  • Parsley
  • Pineapple
  • Potatoes
  • Pumpkin
  • Sauerkraut
  • Scallions
  • Shallots
  • Soya beans
  • Spinach
  • Squash
  • Tomato
  • Turnip
  • Watercress
  • Zucchini / courgettes

Meats, Poultry, Fish and Meat Free Substitutes

  • Beef
  • Cod
  • Chicken
  • Cold cuts / sandwich meat as long as they are not breaded or glazed but check label
  • Duck
  • Fish
  • Lamb
  • Mince meat
  • Pork
  • Quorn mince
  • Salmon
  • Shellfish and molluscs
  • Trout
  • Turkey

Cereals, Grains, Breads, Biscuits, Pasta, Nuts and Cakes

  • Gluten free bread such as Genius bread and Udi’s gluten free bread
  • Gluten free cereals
  • Gluten free oats
  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Beans
  • Buckwheat groats / Kasha
  • Cassava
  • Chia
  • Corn / maize
  • Cornflakes
  • Flax
  • Gluten-free oats
  • Granola
  • Millet
  • Nuts
  • Nut flours
  • Porridge oats
  • Potato
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Rice Krispies
  • Seeds e.g. flaxseed, pumpkin, poppy sesame, sunflower
  • Sorghum
  • Soy
  • Tapioca
  • Teff
  • Yucca

Condiments, Dips, Desserts, Sweets, Sweeteners and Spreads

  • Coconut oil
  • French mustard
  • Ground pepper
  • Honey
  • Horseradish
  • Jam
  • Jellies
  • Olive oil
  • Rice pudding
  • Salsa
  • Salt
  • Sesame oil
  • Sorbet
  • Syrup
  • Tapioca pudding

Drinks

  • Gluten free beer
  • Almond milk
  • Cider
  • Fruit juices
  • Potato vodka
  • Sodas / fizzy drinks e.g. Coca-cola, Pepsi, lemonade
  • Spirits such as rum. Certain spirits such as whisky and vodka are distilled so most can tolerate
  • Wine

Dairy Foods

  • Butter
  • Cheese except for blue cheese
  • Cream
  • Eggs
  • Milk
  • Sour cream
  • Yogurt, plain

Cooking ingredients, herbs and Spices

  • Gluten free flour
  • Baking powder
  • Bicarbonate of soda
  • Cornflour
  • Cream of tartar
  • Potato flour
  • Rice flour
  • Soya flour
  • Herbs e.g. basil, coriander, lemongrass, oregano, rosemary, thyme
  • Spices e.g. allspice, cinnamon, cloves, cumin, nutmeg, paprika

 

Gluten-containing foods to stay away -

  • Biscuits
  • Beer
  • Bread
  • Cakes
  • Cereals (except a few from the good list below)
  • Chocolate bars
  • Cookies
  • Corned beef
  • Couscous
  • Crackers
  • Donuts
  • Gravies
  • Malt beverages
  • Malt vinegar
  • Monosodium glutamate
  • Muffins
  • Pasta
  • Pastries
  • Pies
  • Pretzels
  • Pizza
  • Sauces
  • Sausages
  • Salami
  • Sauces – many have wheat as a thickener
  • Soups – many have wheat as a thickener
  • Wheat flour

A gluten-free celiac disease diet is the only effective diet option.


Aside from actual grains of wheat, rye and barley, gluten can hide in many everyday foods.
Watch out for these gluten sources:

  • Wheat described by different names– some are durum, kamut, semolina, faro, bulgur and spelt
  • Triticale, which is a crossbreed of wheat and rye
  • Malt
  • Brewer's yeast
  • Packaged foods not labelled gluten free like pasta, cookies, cereals and breadcrumbs
  • Marinades and sauces
  • Starch or dextrin
  • Beer

Learning to read food labels is important when you are on a celiac disease diet.


Many foods are naturally gluten free and help to create a balanced and nutritious celiac disease diet. These include:

  • Meat
  • Fruits and vegetables
  • Eggs
  • Nuts and legumes
  • Dairy products including milk
  • Fats and oils
  • Naturally gluten free grains such as rice, corn, millet and sorghum
  • Pseudo-cereals like amaranth, buckwheat and quinoa
  • Foods labelled "gluten free"
...